Techno 293 Class Association
About T293
Rules & Regs
Tips & Tricks
News Archive
Links & Contacts
T293 Plus
Techno Wind Foil
News Archive
Day 3 of Competition
Posted On:  01/11/2013 05:29:38

A frustrating day and only one race completed on day 3 of competition at the T293 Europeans in Eilat.

A misty dawn improved very little as the scheduled time approached to send out the racers for race 5 of the championship, the first race of the day.

However, it was decided that conditions would improve by first possible warning signal and the course was set and competitors brought to the starting line.

Conditions did not improve and the course needed to be reset due to the shifting pattern of the light breeze. Racing eventually got underway an hour later than scheduled.

It was not possible to finish a second race for the youth boys - with the race having to be abandoned due to a further big shift in the wind direction.

All divisions were sent ashore to wait for improved conditions, but by mid afternoon it was decided to call a halt for the day.

Israeli sailors once again top the leader-board in all 4 divisions after 5 races.

It is no change in the podium positions for junior boys - despite the top finishing places in race 5 going to lower ranked competitors.

The top 3 finishers in junior girls are now in the top 3 positions in the overall ranking with Katy Spychakov regaining pole position.

Francisco Saubidet from Argentina moved up the youth boys rankings into 3rd position after dropping his earlier OCS and finishing today's race in second. Ofek Elimelech won race 5 and moved up to first overall.

Shoval Ravitzki retained the lead in the youth girls, but Noy Drihan is now only one point of the lead after her win in the race today, Mariam Sekhposyan regained 3rd overall with her second place in race 5.

Two days to go, and with better wind forecast it is still all to play for!

Junior (u15) Boys:

1) Itai Kafri (Israel)
2) Guy Sitin (Israel)
3) Geronimo Nores (USA)

Junior (u15) Girls:

1) Katy Spychakov (Israel)
2) Lidia Sulikowska (Poland)
3) Yarden Isaak (Israel)

Youth (u17) Boys:

1) Ofek Elimelech (Israel)
2) Daniel Harari (Israel)
3) Francisco Saubidet (Argentina)

Youth (u17) Girls:

1) Shoval Ravitzki (Israel)
2) Noy Drihan (Israel)
3) Mariam Sekhposyan (Russia)

Full results / Photo Gallery / Video Day Three

website content © International Windsurfing Association, design by AWNet Limited © Christopher Gibson