Techno 293 Class Association
About T293
Rules & Regs
Tips & Tricks
News Archive
Links & Contacts
T293 Plus
Techno Wind Foil
News Archive
South East Zone triumph at 2013 RYA Eric Twiname Championships
Posted On:  17/05/2013 16:02:27

Having endured fickle winds, strong gusts and driving rain on day one of the regatta yesterday, the concluding day of the championships brought with it far more favourable conditions for the competitors, with spells of sunshine and an average 12-14 knots. As a result the day's full complement of three races took place allowing for some swapping of places at the top of the fleets and the South East Zone clinched the Eric Twiname Windsurfing Trophy out of the grasp of last year's winner the North Zone, awarded to the Zone scoring best from two of the four windsurfing classes.

Benjamin Temme from the South East Zone continued his dominance from day one posting two bullets and a third to cement his position at the top of the 4.5m leaderboard to clinch event victory. In the 5.8m rig, Ben Tweedle who was crowned 2012 champion in the 4.5m rig at last year's event continued his fine form at Rutland taking Championships honours with a scorecard of six from his six races completed.

The overnight leaders in the larger 6.8m and 7.8m rigs also continued to govern with Scotland's Andrew Brown and East Zone Alexi Murphy clinching Championships titles in their respective fleets.

The top RYA Zone in the 4.5m rig and 5.8m rig was the South East, Scotland clinched the 6.8 top Zone while the North retained the 7.8 overall Zone.

Duncan Truswell, RYA Youth Racing Manager, said: "I have been extremely impressed by the standard of sailing displayed across the RYA Junior classes this year, the sailors have obviously worked hard with their coaches over the winter as part of the RYA Zone and Home Country Squad programmes and its really pleasing to see how much progress has been made and how capable the sailors are. Once again Rutland Sailing Club fielded a massive team of volunteers and have made us all fantastically welcome from word go. I would like to express my gratitude on behalf of the RYA, the Trust and all the sailors who have benefitted. My thanks as well to the Eric Twiname Trust for supporting the regatta for the 27th consecutive year."

Thanks to the long-standing and on-going support of the Eric Twiname Trust, the event is free to enter with all of the costs associated with the running of the regatta met by the RYA and the Trust.

2013 RYA Eric Twiname Championships Results:
Bic Techno 4.5
1) Benjamin Temme (Bewl Valley Sailing Club)
2) Kate Hatcher (Bristol Corinthian Yacht Club)
3) Tom Cunningham (Bewl Valley SC)
Winning Zone: South East
Bic Techno 5.8
1) Ben Tweedle (Emsworth SC/Calshot Flyers)
2) Hugo Thomas (Queen Mary Sailing Club)
3) Joe Parrott (Siblyback Water Warriors)
Winning Zone: South East
Bic Techno 6.8
1) Andrew Brown (loch Insh Monsters)
2) Galahad Wisbey (Hythe Hotshots)
3) Isaac Lines (Toward Sailing Club)
Winning Zone: Scotland
Bic Techno 7.8
1) Alexi Murphy (Bray Lake Manic Monkeys)
2) Robin Mcallister (Cbyc)
3) Jasper Geddes (Queen Mary SC)
Winning Zone: North
Windsurfing overall winning Zone:
1) RYA South East Zone
2) RYA North Zone
3) RYA South West Zone

News from Day One . . . (all classes)

For the full set of results from each class and for more information on the RYA Eric Twiname Championships please visit the event website at

website content © International Windsurfing Association, design by AWNet Limited © Christopher Gibson